cbd in texas ageDecember 15, 2021
When will a marijuana bill be voted on in Texas?
How much weed is legal in Texas?
Low-THC products are not required to go through lab testing.
Possession of 2 ounces (56.7 grams) or less of cannabis is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine for a first offense. The offender’s driver’s license is suspended upon conviction.
There is no age restriction for patients; however, patients younger than 18 will need a parent or legal guardian to obtain medical cannabis. Patients in the registry are authorized to purchase and consume medical cannabis if they meet eligibility requirements, which include:
The Texas Legislature in June 2015 passed the Texas Compassionate Use Act, or SB 339, authorizing organizations to cultivate, process, and dispense low-THC cannabis to qualifying patients. It allowed individuals with intractable epilepsy and registered caregivers acting on their behalf to purchase cannabis with no more than 0.5% THC and a 20-to-1 concentration of CBD to THC.
Gov. Greg Abbott signed HB 3703, expanding the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana use and eliminating the need for a second physician’s opinion and the 20-to-1 concentration requirement. However, the bill did not amend the language “prescribe” and “prescription,” which may be used only with FDA-approved substances.
Weed is not legal in Texas. Possession of 2 ounces (56.7 grams) or less of cannabis is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine for a first offense. The offender’s driver’s license is suspended upon conviction.
CURT is the system that allows physicians to register and prescribe low-THC cannabis to qualified patients. No registry identification card is needed, nor is there a fee to participate in the program. Once certified and added to the registry by their attending physician, patients can purchase low-THC cannabis products from any state-licensed dispensary.
Participants in CUP must be permanent residents of Texas.
Only patients in the registry who have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition by a state-certified physician can purchase CBD products with low-THC from a DPS-licensed medical dispensary.
While we can’t predict the future, we do know that Texans can’t petition to get a medical marijuana initiative added to the ballot. Any path to legalization would have to go through the state legislature.
No, adult-use cannabis is currently illegal in Texas. A limited program makes low-THC, high-CBD cannabis available to patients.
When did the Texas marijuana decriminalization bill come into effect?
Only patients who are permanent residents of Texas can be registered to the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT). The law tasked the Texas Department of Public Safety with overseeing the statewide program to provide cannabis products to registered patients.
The law does not mention any restrictions on where a patient can legally possess or consume medical cannabis.
There is no provision for caregivers in the Compassionate Use Program. Patients who need assistance obtaining or using medicinal cannabis may have their prescription filled and administered by a legal guardian if the prescribing physician has added the guardian’s ID information to the patient’s file in the CURT system.
Possession limits are set by the patient’s physician and specified in their prescription.
With only three dispensaries in a state the size of Texas, delivery is a must. Dispensaries deliver in Austin and the San Antonio area but can ship throughout the state. DPS says it only licensed three dispensaries to correspond with the number of severe epilepsy patients in the state. Now that the list of qualifying conditions has expanded, the number of dispensaries may as well.
Home cultivation is illegal in Texas.
The law specifically prohibits ingesting low-THC cannabis by smoking.
Medical cannabis is available in tincture, lozenge, and topical forms.
The law specifically prohibits smoking low-THC cannabis; therefore, possession of any amount of cannabis flower is prohibited. For non-patients, possession of 2 ounces (56.7 grams) or less of cannabis is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine for a first offense. The offender’s driver’s license is suspended upon conviction.
While some counties and cities have reduced possession penalties, marijuana is not decriminalized in Texas. Possession of 2 ounces (56.7 grams) or less of cannabis is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine for a first offense. The offender’s driver’s license is suspended upon conviction.
Keep in mind the fact that CBD is a relatively new substance, and it is not federally regulated, nor is it especially well-researched. While the signs all point to CBD being a very helpful compound for a variety of health conditions, and while it has few-to-no side effects, you should always exercise caution when giving it to a child.
Additionally, CBD has been demonstrated to potentially provide long-term health benefits, including boosting heart and brain health.
If you’re looking into CBD to help treat a child, you may be happy to know that CBD is a very low-risk substance, and that many parents choose to give their children CBD in order to help them sleep or to soothe their anxiety. As far as the research can tell (though it is still relatively new), CBD presents no special risk to vulnerable populations like children or the elderly. CBD is specifically used in Epidiolex, an epilepsy medication formulated for children. Also, there is promising research into CBD’s efficacy at treating multiple conditions, including:
In terms of natural medicine, there’s really nothing like CBD. Users of all ages and backgrounds can attest to its healing, calming properties. But just who can legally buy it?
In all other states, you either must be 18, or there is no age limit.
Benefits of CBD for children and minors.
According to federal law, you must be over 18 to purchase smokeable products like CBD flower or CBD vaping oils. But all other forms of CBD, like gummies, topicals, oils, or creams, have no age restriction due to their medicinal benefits. With that being said, not all states follow the federal law, and some states may require you to be older than 21.
If the CBD you are purchasing is derived from marijuana instead of hemp, and/or if it has over 0.3% THC content, you may have to be 21 or older to be served . Generally, states that have marijuana legalized treat the sale and purchase of marijuana in the same way as alcohol — you will have to be 21+, minors may not be able to enter dispensaries, and purchasing on behalf of a minor is illegal. While CBD products that contain more than 0.3% THC content are not the same as weed, they are classified as marijuana products, and are often subject to the same legal jurisdiction.
CBD will not get your child high, so long as the THC content of whatever CBD product you are using is relatively low (less than 0.3%), so there’s no risk of a potential feeling of anxiety that there might be with marijuana.
There are some states where you must be 21 to buy CBD, namely:
Of course, there are some nuances. For example, essentially anyone can buy online, but you typically need to be 21 to buy from an official dispensary. If the product has over .03% THC, or if the CBD is marijuana-derived and not hemp-derived, then you will most likely have to be 21 to purchase.
The short answer? Sometimes. Unfortunately, there is very little clear federal legislation on the sale of CBD and minimum age requirements. It’s a very loosely regulated industry, especially in the context of legality. Depending on the origin of the CBD, the state it’s being sold in, and the particular store you may be planning to purchase from, you may have to be 18+ or even 21+ to purchase CBD products, or you may not be carded at all.
Consider consulting a doctor first before beginning a CBD regimen for a minor. You may also want to make sure to purchase a CBD product with low-to-no THC-content to eliminate their contact with the compound, such as CBD isolate or broad-spectrum or hemp-derived CBD products. CBD can sometimes cause medication interactions, so check to make sure your child’s medications do not come with a grapefruit warning. Additionally, make sure that you or they are purchasing their CBD from a reputable seller.
Because the restrictions between state and federal laws can be so complicated, we’ve dedicated this article to sussing out exactly how old you have to be to buy CBD, and how to make sure you get it from a reputable source without getting ripped off.
Online dispensaries are a similar situation, though it’s quite a bit easier for online CBD shops to be less stringent about their clientele’s age. Most reputable sellers will require that you are over 18 and will likely do age checks in some form or another.
Beyond that, if your CBD is hemp-derived and contains less than 0.3% THC, 18 year olds and minors should both (technically speaking) be able to purchase and use it. There are no federal laws about the minimum age for sale or use of CBD, so unless your local laws state otherwise, it should be fair game for minors. This is likely due to how young the industry is, since the federal bill that legalized the production of hemp products on a mass scale was only passed in 2018. As more CBD research comes out — and potentially if the use of CBD becomes more politicized — the minimum age could change in the future.
List of State Laws.
There’s a catch, though: most places that sell CBD, such as smoke shops or dispensaries, will often refuse either service or entry to minors. Oftentimes it’s simply a store policy to avoid getting themselves into trouble, especially if they sell products that are federally age-restricted, but it means that it’s unlikely that a minor will be able to purchase CBD in-person.
CBD Facilitator can connect you with a variety of high-quality, reputable CBD vendors who care about your and your child’s health as much as you do. Our directory can help you find whatever product you’re looking for, whether it be CBD topical creams, oils, hemp flower, or isolates.